Storytime Themes

Shoes and Socks Storytime

The Plan

Books

  • Dog in Boots by Greg Gormley
  • Ducks Don’t Wear Socks by John Nedwidek
  • Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes by Eric Litwin
    • Be sure to visit Pete’s website to learn the “I Love My White Shoes” song before reading this book.

Extension Activities

Hands Go Up (Opening)
To the tune of “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star”
Hands go up and hands go down
I can turn around and round
I can jump upon two shoes
I can listen; so can you
I can sit, I’ll show you how
Storytime is starting now

Literary Hoots has a very extensive list of Hello/Goodbye songs, and I borrowed this one from her as my welcome song.

This Is What My Feet Can Do
To the tune of “Mary Had a Little Lamb”
This is what my feet can do, feet can do, feet can do
This is what my feet can do
Can you do it too?

Let your feet go up and down, up and down, up and down
Let your feet go up and down
Up and down

Let your feet go hop, hop, hop; hop, hop, hop; hop, hop, hop
Let your feet go hop, hop, hop
All around the room

Can your feet go tiptoeing, tiptoeing, tiptoeing
Can your feet go tiptoeing
All around the room

Make your feet go stomp, stomp, stomp; stomp, stomp, stomp; stomp, stomp, stomp
Make your feet go stomp, stomp, stomp
All around the room

Now your feet can sit right down, sit right down, sit right down
Now your feet can sit right down
Quietly please

This song was mostly borrowed from Singin’ in the Stacks, although I adapted it slightly for my group.

Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes flannelboard set from Little Folks Visuals

I paired this flannel set with the book and let the kids help me add pieces as we went through the story.  They loved it!

Craft

Crazy Socks

Again, I fully copied Singin’ in the Stacks on this activity too.  I found some simple sock clipart online, resized it in Word, and printed it out on regular paper.  I probably should have used cardstock, but this worked out alright.  Then I gave the kids markers, crayons, glitter glue, buttons, and small pompoms, and let them decorate their socks in whatever way they wished.  Super easy!

20170404_112951

How it went

This was my very first storytime as the new person-in-charge (I’ve just subbed a few times before), and it went really well.  I was spring break week, so I had a lot more kids than we normally do during the school year.  Fortunately, these kids were very enthusiastic and participatory, especially with Pete the Cat.  A few of them had I Love My White Shoes  memorized, and they were more than happy to chime in with me.

My one big takeaway from this event is I need to plan for more books and extension activities.  I finished what I had planned for this storytime in about 15-20 minutes, and then all we had left was the craft.  I’d like to spend at least 20-25 minutes on stories, songs, and rhymes before we end with the craft.

2 thoughts on “Shoes and Socks Storytime

Leave a Reply

