Storytime Themes

National Library Week Storytime

The Plan

Books

  • Lola at the Library by Anna McQuinn
  • Homer the Library Cat by Reeve Lindbergh
  • Book! Book! Book! by Deborah Bruss
  • Read It, Don’t Eat It by Ian Schoenherr

Extension Activities

“Take Me Out to the Library”

I could not find a library-themed song on the internet that I liked for this storytime. So my amateur-lyricist mother whipped this one up for me.  It is really cute even though I was a little self-conscious about singing it in storytime.  In hindsight, I should have added some motions to the song,  so that the kids just wouldn’t sit there staring at me.  So I have included potential motions in this post.  To learn the ASL motions, I recommend Signing Savvy’s ASL Dictionary.

“Take Me Out to the Library”
(To the tune of “Take Me Out to the Ballgame”; new lyrics by my mom)

Take me out to the library          (ASL sign for “library”)
Take me into the town                (ASL sign for “town”)
We’ll check out some books and some DVDs     (ASL sign for “book”)
Now let’s hear a story if you please       (cup hands around ears)
Then we’ll make a craft at the table       (ASL sign for “create”)
We’ll try to not be too LOUD! (shhh!)   (hands to mouth as if shouting; then shush)
Then it’s A, B, C you next week      (either YMCA letters or ASL fingerspell on A, B, C)
‘Cause we love to have a crowd!     (ASL sign for “love”)

“Shake My Sillies Out” by Raffi

This song has nothing to do with the theme, but it was great as a gross movement brain break.

Craft

Bookworm Bookmarks

I got this cute, fun idea from Meaningful Mama, and the kids loved it.  I gave the kids large craft sticks, markers, medium-sized pom poms, and googly eyes, and just let them be creative.  Virtually no prep, but the kids really enjoyed it.

20170413_143253

How it went

I’m glad that I planned for four books instead of three because the kids stayed with me the whole time.  They especially liked Book! Book! Book! because they got to make animal sounds with me.  I don’t know if they understood the play on words at the end of the story, but they enjoyed mooing and clucking.  Raffi’s song went very well, as I knew it would, but I wish that I had incorporated motions with “Take Me Out to the Library.”  I need to use that song again and do it right.

Leave a Reply

