Storytime Themes

Easter Storytime

The Plan

Books

  • The Color Monster  by Ron Fontes
  • There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Chick!  by Lucille Colandro
  • Happy Easter, Little Critter  by Mercer Mayer
  • The Easter Bunny’s Assistant  by Jan Thomas

Songs

I opened storytime with “Hands Go Up” (lyrics on my Shoes and Socks Storytime post).

Our first song was the Bunny Hokey Pokey.  I got the lyrics from First Grade Bloomabilities, and I used a generic Hokey Pokey instrumental for background music.  I could have done it a capella, but it was more fun with music.

Our second song was “Freeze Dance” by Happy Tunes.  This one didn’t really have anything to do with Easter, but the first action in this song is hopping, so I made it work.

Craft

Crayon Resist Watercolor Eggs

This was a really easy craft.  I found a basic egg shape online and resized it Publisher to get eggs that are about 4 inches tall.  I printed them out on cardstock and punched a hole in the top for the string.  I showed the kids how to draw with crayons first and then paint over with watercolors, but none of them really paid much attention to those instructions.  They were more interested in saturating their eggs with watercolor paint.  Oh well, whatever makes them happy is alright with me!

20170420_092804

How It Went

Technically, this storytime was a little late since Easter was last Sunday, but the kids had a good time nonetheless.  They thoroughly enjoyed both of the songs; I will definitely be using “Freeze Dance” again.  The Color Monster is an oldie-but-a-goodie that I remember reading as a kid, and it went along perfectly with our craft.  I think that the favorite book was probably The Easter Bunny’s Assistant which I expected.  You can’t go wrong with stinky skunks!

Leave a Reply

