Storytime Themes

Construction Storytime | Build a Better World

The Plan

Books

  • The True Story of the Three Little Pigs  by Jon Scieszka
  • Too Tall Houses  by Gianna Marino
  • Tip Tip Dig Dig  by Emma Garcia
  • Melvin Might?  by Jon Scieszka, David Shannon, and Loren Long

Extension Activities

Opening: “Hands Go Up”
This song is my current favorite opener.  The lyrics are in my first blog post.

“Head, Shoulders, Knees, & Toes”
I have heard different versions of this song, but, in my experience, the best way to use this one is by starting out slowly and getting a little faster each time through.  It is the simplest device in the world, but the kids LOVE it!

“Shake My Sillies Out”
I used the Raffi version of this song but sang it acapella because I didn’t want to bother with a sound system.  Most of the kids knew this song and loved it.  

Craft

Three Little Pigs Houses

This week’s craft was inspired by this post from Pinterest, although I made some changes.

Supplies

  • Raffia, cut in 4-5 inch lengths
  • Small popsicle sticks
  • Red construction paper, cut into small brick shapes
  • Brown butcher paper, cut into 4″ triangles
  • White construction paper for the background
  • Liquid glue

This craft was very easy and good for all ages, although it required me to do some labor-intensive cutting as preparation.  I was afraid to give the kids bottles of Elmer’s glue, so I had my teen volunteer pour the glue into bowls and water it down.  Then I gave the kids paint brushes to spread the glue.  They still make a mess with the glue, but it is not as bad.  The only major problem was the raffia did not stick to the kids’ papers very well, but they still enjoyed the craft.

How It Went

This storytime was our Build a Better World Summer Reading Kickoff, and it went really well.  I had good crowds, and most of the kids were very engaged in what I was doing.  During The True Story of the Three Little Pigs, I cued the kids to fake-sneeze as a group when the wolf sneezed in the story.  They loved it!  And in Tip Tip Dig Dig, I asked the kids to stand up with me and mimic the digging, lifting, pushing, etc. motions in the story.  They played along really well and helped make that book be a little more exciting.  The craft was good for a wide age range, which I had at this storytime.  The kids could make it as simple or complicated as they wanted.

Leave a Reply

