Storytime Themes

Environment Storytime

The Plan

Books

Songs

  • “Shake My Sillies Out”
  • “The Hokey Pokey”
  • “Do Your Ears Hang Low?

Craft

We had some leftover seed starter pots in the craft room (similar to those pictured below) and a bunch of surplus seeds from our seed library.  So, I decided to put those items to use this week.  I laid out the pots, seeds, some potting soil, and markers on our craft table, and the kids went to work decorating their pots and planting the seeds.  We planted beans, and I have no idea if they will sprout, but the kids enjoyed the craft.  And thanks to some old canvas drop cloths on the floor, the mess was minimal.

How It Went

Originally, the theme for this storytime was recycling, but I had a hard time finding good books about recycling that weren’t too preachy, so I stretched the theme to include gardening.  In our intro time, I tried to stress that we were talking about “building a better world” by making the earth greener.  Even though I wasn’t as confident about some of these books, the kids seemed to enjoy all of them.  Curious George Plants a Tree is not the most exciting book in the world, but the kids loved seeing a favorite character.  And, it transitions really well into The Curious Garden.  I really like this book, but it is a little long.  Michael Recycle is a good length for storytime, but it isn’t as suspenseful as you might hope.  I wish that it played up the superhero element a bit more.  My Garden was probably the biggest stretch for this theme, but it is such a charming book.  During the second storytime, I thought to ask the kids what unusual things they might want in their garden after we finished the book, and I got some good answers.  My favorite was the girl who wanted a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup bush.  I need to remember to ask follow-up questions more often after a story.  The kids enjoy the opportunity to use their imaginations.

Leave a Reply

