Storytime Themes

Dogs Storytime

OPENING:  “Hello Friends” (with sign language)
Credit: Jbrary

BOOK: Gaston by Kelly DiPucchio

Gaston is a cute book, but it was a little long for my storytime crowd. Overall this was a rough storytime, which I didn’t expect, and I think that part of my problem was I picked too many lengthy books.

BOOK: The Dog Who Cried Wolf by Keiko Kasza

SONG: Song Cube

I made a large cube with six different songs on it, including “Fruit Salad”, “The Wheels on the Bus”, “Bubble, Bubble, Pop”, “Five Green and Speckled Frogs”, “Clap, Clap, Clap Your Hands”, and “Do Your Ears Hang Low?”. I let the kids roll the cube a couple of times, and we sing whatever song it lands on.

BOOK: This Book Just Ate My Dog! by Richard Byrne

This book is a fun metafiction title, but I don’t think the kids really “got it” too well.

BOOK: Widget by Lyn Rossiter McFarland

This book was my personal favorite of the week, and I probably should have led off with it and dropped Gaston. I ended up skipping most of the rhymes and songs I had planned because I felt I wasn’t holding the kids’ attention.

CRAFT:  “Wide-Mouthed Dog Watercolor”

I printed out this dog printable on cardstock and then gave the kids watercolors to decorate them.

Leave a comment